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Dear Mr. Kellerman:

COMPLAINT FOR MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTIONS, CALIFORNIA MEN’S COLONY, SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

Attached is Complaint foi Mandatory Minimum Penalty No. R3-2004-0103 (Complaint). The Complaint
is based on violations of cffluent limitations in Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-001
(National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit No. CA0047856) from July 1, 2002 to March
31,2004, The attached Complaint specifies the occurrence dates and nature of the violations.

We will present an order to the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Ceptral Coast Region (Regional
Board) for the amount proposed in the Complaint ($15,000) at the Regional Board meeting on Septel-nbel
10, 2004, at the Regional Roard Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo,

California. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no specific time has been set for
consideration of this item.

California Water Code Section 13385(1), allows the entire penalty amount of $15,000 to be expended on a
supplemental environmental project (SEP) in accordance with the State Water Resources Control Board
(SWRCB)’s Enforcement Policy. You may submit a proposal for one or more SEPs. If you do choose to
submit a proposal, please submit it for consideration no later than July 23, 2004. The State'Wfltel‘
Resources Control Board’s February 19, 2002 Water Quality Enforcement Policy speciﬁesvthe criteria a
SEP must racet to qualify for funding at www.swreb.ca.gov/plnspols/waep.doc.  You may find a number
of  SEPs listed, as well as other wuseful information, on our website at:
www.swrcbh.ca.gov/rwqeh3/sep/index. itm.

Please review the Complaing carefully and your cornments and/or your Waiver of Hearing form and copy
of payment, or an SEP proposal by July 23,2004, [f you have questions, please contact Matt Thompson
at (805) 549-3159 or Regional Board Counsel, Lori Okun, at (916) 341-5165.

S

ger W. Briggrs '
Executive Officer

Attachment:  Mandatory Minimum Penalty Complaint No. R3-2004-0103

Sincerely,

Item No. 14 Attachment No. 1
September 10, 2004 Meeting
tﬁ\ Recycled Paper California Men’s Colony

Culifornia Environmental Protection Agency




CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
CENTRAL COAST REGION
895 Aerovista Lane, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, California 93401

COMPLAINT NO. R3-2004-0103

MANDATORY PENALTY
IN THE MATTER OF
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS
CALIFORNIA MEN’S COLONY
SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

This complaint to assess Mandatory Minimum Penalsics pursuant to Water. Code section 13385(h) and (i) is
issued to the California Department of Corrections, California Men’s Colony (Discharger), based on a finding
of violations of Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-001, National Pollutant Discharge Elimination
System (NPDES) Permit No. CA0047856.

The Executive Officer finds the following;:

1.

to

(OS]

4.

On February 2, 2001, the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region (Regional Bqard),
adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-001, NPDES Permit No. CA0047856, Jor California
Departinent of Corrections, California Men’s Colony, San Luis Obispo County (Order No. 01-001).

California Water Code section 13385(h)(1) requires the Regional Board to assess a mandatory penalty of
three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious violation.

California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Regional Board to assess a mandatory penalty of three
thousand dollars ($3,000) for each violation. not counting the first three violations, if the discharger does
any of the following four or more times in a consecutive six-month period:

a)  Exceads a waste discharge requirement efflueat limitation;

b) Fails to tile a report pursuant to Section 13260;

¢) Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 132€0; or

d) Exceeds a toxicity effluent limitation contained in the applicable waste discharge requirements where

the weste discharge requirements do not contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic
pollutants.

Califorria Water Code section I13385(1) states that “(1) In lieu of assessing penalties pursuant to
subdivision (h) or (i), the...regional board, with the concurrence of the discharger, may direct a portion of
the penalty amount to be expended on a supplemental environmental project in accordance with the
enforcement policy of the state board. If the penalty amount exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000),
the portion of the penalty amount that may be directed to be expended on a supplemental environmental
project may not exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) plus 50 percent of the penaity amount that
exceeds fifieen thousand dollars ($1 5,000).

Califorria Water Code section 13385(h)(2) provides a serious violation occurs if the discharge exceeds the
effluent limitations for a Group 11 pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to section 123.45 of Title 40 Code
of Federal Regulations, by 20 percent or more or for a Group I pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to
section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more.
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6. Order No. 01-001 inciudes in part the following:

Effluent Liunitation Nc. |:

“Effluent daily dry weather flow rate shall not exceed a 30-day average of 1.2 MGD...”

Effluent Limitation No, 2¢

“...effluent shall not exceed the following limits:

Monthly (30-Day) Weekly (7-Day) Daily
Constituent Units Average Average Maximum
BCD: Ibs/day | 100 300 500

Effluent Limitation No. 4:

“Effluent shall not have a pH less than 6.5 or greater than 8.3.”

Effluent Limitation No, §:

“Effluent shall not have a dissolved oxygen concentration of less than 2.0 mg/L.”

Effluent Limitation No., 6:

. . " I”
“Effluent shall not have a measurable chlorine residual (greater than 0.1 mg/L).

Eftluent Limitation No, 8:

“...The maximum number of coliform organisms shall not exceed 240 [MPN] per 100
mitliliters.” ‘

7. BOD; and Flow are Group I Pollutants. Chlorine Residual is a Group II Pollutant. Total Coliform
Organisms, pH, and Dissolved Oxygen are neither Group | or Group I Pollutants.

. - o
8. Effluent containing censlituent values that are greater than or equal to the following values (limit + 40%
for Group I pollutants, limit +20% for Group 11 pollutants) are serious violations:

Constituent Serious Threshold
Effluent daily dry weather flow rate, | 1.68 MGD

30-Day Average
| BODs, Monthly (30-Day) Average 140 lbs/day 30-Day Average
Chlorine  Residual, Instantaneous | 2.4 mg/L

Maximuimn

' Footnote No. | of Monitoring and Reporting Program No. 01-001 states, “Compliance determinations_fo_r tqtal
chlorine residual shall be based on 99% compliance. To determine 99% compliance with the efﬂuen? limitation
specified above for total chilorine residual, the following conditions shall be satisfied: (1) The total time during
which the total chlorine residual values are above 0.1 mg/L (instantaneous maximum value) shall not exceed 7 hours

and 26 minutes in any calendar month; (2) No individual excursion from 0.1 mg/L shall exceed 30 minutes; and (3)
No individual excursion shall exceed 2 mg/L.”
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9. Effluent containing constituent concentrations that are less than the serious threshold but greater than the
permit {imits, are chrounic violations.

10. Accordirg to monitoring, reports submitted by the Discharger, the Discharger committed the following
viotations of eftluent limitations of Order No. 01-001 in the period July 1, 2002 through March 31, 2004:

Violation Violation
# Date Constituent Permitied Limit Reported Value Type
I 7/4/02 Total Coliform 240 MPN/100 mL Maxintam + | 900 MPN/100 mL Chronic
2 7/31/02 Effluent Flow 1.2 MGD 30-Day Average 1.275 MGD Chronic
3 1/15/03 Chlorine No measurable chlorine residual 0.41 mg/L. Chronic
Residual (<0.1 mg/L).
4 5/6/03 Dissolved Greater than 2.0 mg/L 0.7 mg/L Chronic
_ Oxypen
5 8/12/03 Dissolved Greater than 2.0 mg/L 0.2 mg/L Chronic
Oxygen
6 10/3/03 Chlorine No measurable chlorine residual 1.2 mg/L Chronic
Residual (<0.1 mg/L) )
7 10/7/03 pH 6.5-83 6.2 Chronic*
8 10/20/03 Chlorine No measurable chlorine residual 3.5 mg/L Serious
Residual (<0.1 mg/L)
9 11/12/03 Chlorine No measurable chlorine residual 2.2 mg/L Chronic*
Residual (<0.1 mg/L)
10 F/14/03 | Total Coliform | 240 MPN/100 mL Maximum 500 MPN/100 mL Chronic*
11| 2/25/04 BODx 100 lbs/day 30-Day Average 122 {bs/day Chronic*

* denotes chronic violations subject to Mandatory Minimum Penalties.

L1. According (o Finding No. 10, the Discharger committed one (1) serious violation in the periqd July 1,
2002 through March 31, 2004. The amount of the mandatory penalty for the serious violations (1 x
$3,000) is three thousand dollars ($3,000).

(2. According to Finding Wo. 10, the Discharger committed seven (7) chronic violations in the period May 1,
2003 :hrough March 31, 2004. California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Regional Board. to
assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each violation, not counting
the first three, occurring in a consecutive six-month period. The mandatory minimum penaity for the
above chronic violations (7 - 3 = 4 x $3,000) is twelve thousand dollars ($12,000).

13. The total amount of the mandatory penalty for violations occurring in the period July 1, 2002 through
March 31,2004 ($3,000 + $12,000) is fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000).
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THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, CALIFORNIA MEN’S COLONY IS
HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

t. The Executive Oflicer ol the Regional Board proposes that the Discharger be assessed a Mandatory
Penalty in the amount of fifteen thousand dollars ($15, 000).

o

The Regional Board shall hold a public hearing on September 10, 2004, unless the Discharger agrees to
waive its right to a public hearing by filling o.t, signing, and submitting the enclosed “Waiver of
Hearing”. 1f the Discharger chooses not to waive its right to a public hearing, the Regional Board may
proceed with the scheduiled public hearing and consider testimony received from interested persons during
the public hearing and decide whether to accept the amount of Mandatory Penalty proposed by the
Executive Officer or increase the liability. The Regional Board may also decide to continue the matter to a
future hearing, or refer it to the State Attorney General. The public hearing is scheduled at the regularly
scheduled Regional Board meetmg, on September 10, 2004, at the Regional Board Conference Room, 8§95
Aerovista Piace, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo, California. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8: 30 a.m,;
however, no specific time has been set for consideration of this item. ’

If you have questions regarding this matter, please direct them to Regional Board staff, Matt Thompson, at
(805) 549-3159, or Regional Board Counsel, Lori Okun, at (916) 341-5165.

o &

R()ée/w Briggs
Executive Officer

é" -7 l£ - ‘/
7

Date
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PROCEDURAL INFORMATION
FOR
MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY COMPLAINT
PUBLIC HEARING AND PAYMENT

WAIVER OF PUBLIC HEARING

You may waive your right to a public hearing. If you wish to waive your right to a public hearing, a duly
authorized person® must check, sign, and submit the following Waiver of the Right to a Public Hearing
form and pay the mandatory minimum penalty amount specified in the Complaint no later than July 23,
2004, 5:00 P.M. Please follow the payment instructions below.

If you choese to waive your right to a public hearing, and if full payment and a signed Waiver of the Right to
a Public Hearing form are veceived before the hearing, the hearing will not be held, and the violation will be
settled. 1 full payment and a signed Waiver of the Right to a Public Hearing form are not received, the
matter will be placed on the Regional Board’s agenda for a hearing as stated below.

If you do not waive your right to a public hearing, the Executive Officer will present an Order to the Regional
Board for the amount proposed in this Complaint at the Regional Board meeting on September 10, .2001%: at
the Regional Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo, California. The
Regional Board will proceed with the scheduled hearing, consider testimony received from interested persons
during the hearing, and decide whether to accept the amount of the mandatory minimum penalty proposeq py
the Executive Officer, or direct the Executive Officer to reissue the complaint alleging increased liability
pursuant to Water Code Section 13385(¢c) and (. 1f the proposed Order is adopted, payment of the
mandatory minimum penalty to the State Water Resources Control Board will be due and payable no later
than October 10, 2004, in accordance with the Order. If the proposed Order is rejected, the Regional Board
may direct the Executive Officer to issue a new complaint and schedule another public hearing. The
Regional Board may also decide to continue the matter to a future hearing or refer it to the State Attorney
General. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 A.M.; however, no specific time has been set for
consideration of the Order.

PAYMENT OF MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY

No later than July 23, 2004, please make your check payable to State Water Resources Control Boqrd,
and note “MMP Complaint No. R3-2004-0103” on the check. Please mail the check and signed waiver
form to:

SWRCB Accounting

Attn: Enforcement

P.O. Box 100

Sacramento, CA 95812-0100

Please also mail copies of the check and signed waiver form to:
Regional Water Quality Control Board
Attn: Matt Thompson
895 Acrovista Place, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

* A duly authorized person is defined as a principal executive officer of at least the level of vice pg’esndept in a
corporation, a general partner or the proprietor in a partnership or sole proprietorship, a principal executive officer ot
ranking elected official in a public agency, or a duly authorized representative.




WAIVER OF THE RIGHT TO A PUBLIC HEARING

By checking this box, ! agree to waive the California Department of Corrections, California
Men’s Colony’s right to a public hearing before the Regional Board with regard to the
violations alleged in Complaint for Mandatory Minimum Penalty No. R3-2004-0103. 1 agree
to provide payment of the mandatory minimum penalty for the amount proposed in Complaint
for Mandatory Minimum Penalty No. R3-2004-0103. 1 understand that I am giving up the
California Department of Corrections, California Men’s Colony’s right to be heard, and its right
to argue against the allegations made by the Executive Officer in Complaint for Mandatory
Minimum Penalty No. R3-2004-0103, and against the imposition of, or the amount of, the
mandatory mintnum penalty proposed.

Signature

Printed Name

Title/Position

Date




