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LB/L-Sun Cal Mandalay, LLC 
c/o C.A. Rasmussen, Inc. 
Attn: Tim MacDonald  
Vice President      VIA CERTIFIED MAIL NO. 
Westport at Mandalay Bay                7003 3110 0003 0767 7533 
28548 Livingston Avenue 
Valencia, CA 91355-4171 
 
No. SWB-2008-4-0050– OFFER TO PARTICIPATE IN EXPEDITED PAYMENT 
PROGRAM RELATING TO VIOLATIONS OF NPDES PERMIT TESORO WESTPOST 
AT MANDALAY BAY WOOLEY ROAD, OXNARD CA (ORDER NO. R4-2002-0184, CI 
NO. 8282, WDID NO. 4A562445001) 

Dear Mr. MacDonald: 
 
This letter is to notify LB/L-SunCal Mandalay, LLC c/o C.A. Rasmussen, Inc. 
(hereinafter “PERMITTEE” or “you”) of alleged violations of the California Water Code 
identified in the State Water Resources Control Board’s (State Water Board) water 
quality data system and to allow the PERMITTEE to participate in the Water Boards’ 
Expedited Payment Program for Effluent and/or Reporting Violations (Expedited 
Payment Program) to address liability which may be assessed pursuant to Water Code 
sections 13385 and 13385.1.   
  
NOTICE OF VIOLATION:  
 
Based on information in the California Integrated Water Quality System (CIWQS) as of 
July 2010, the State Water Board’s Office of Enforcement alleges that the PERMITTEE 
has violated the effluent limitations, reporting violations, or Water Code provisions  
identified in the Notice of Violation (NOV) attached as Exhibit “A”.  The Permittee will 
have the opportunity to address the alleged violations as discussed below. 
 
STATUTORY LIABILITY: 
 
Subdivisions (h) and (i) of California Water Code section 13385 require the assessment 
of a MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY of $3,000 for specified serious and chronic 
effluent limit violations.   The PERMITTEE is subject to discretionary administrative civil 
liabilities of up to TEN THOUSAND DOLLARS ($10,000) for each day in which the 
violation occurs, plus TEN DOLLARS ($10) for each gallon discharged but not cleaned 
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up in excess of 1,000 gallons.  These mandatory minimum penalties and discretionary 
administrative civil liabilities may be assessed by a Regional Water Quality Control 
Board (Regional Water Board) or the State Water Board (collectively “the Water 
Boards”), beginning with the date that the violations first occurred

1
.  The formal 

enforcement action which the Water Boards use to assess such liability is an 
administrative civil liability complaint although the Water Boards may instead refer such 
matters to the Attorney General’s Office for prosecution.   If referred to the Attorney 
General for prosecution, the Superior Court may assess up to TWENTY-FIVE 
THOUSAND DOLLARS ($25,000) per violation.  In addition, the Superior Court may 
assess up to TWENTY FIVE DOLLARS ($25) per gallon discharged but not cleaned up 
in excess of 1,000 gallons. 
 
OFFER TO PARTICIPATE IN EXPEDITED PAYMENT PROGRAM:   
 
The PERMITTEE can avoid the issuance of a formal enforcement action and settle the 
alleged violations identified in the attached NOV by participating in the Water Boards’ 
Expedited Payment Program.  Details of the proposed settlement are described below 
and addressed in the enclosed documents. 
 
To promote resolution of these violations, the State Water Board makes this 
Conditional Offer.  The PERMITTEE may accept this offer, waive the PERMITTEE’S 
right to a hearing, and pay the mandatory minimum penalty as indicated on Exhibit A, 
for the violations described in the NOV.  If the PERMITTEE elects to do so, subject to 
the conditions below, the State Water Board will accept that payment in settlement of 
any enforcement action that would otherwise arise out of the violations identified in the 
Notice of Violation.  Accordingly, the State Water Board will forego issuance of a formal 
administrative complaint, will not refer the violations to the Attorney General, and will 
waive its right to seek additional discretionary civil liabilities for the violations identified 
in the Notice of Violation.  Resolution of these violations by the State Water Board will 
preclude Regional Water Board action for these same violations. 
 
The Expedited Payment Program does not address or resolve liability for any violation 
that is not specifically identified in the Notice of Violation.   
 
PERMITTEE’S OPTIONS FOR RESPONSE TO OFFER:  
 
If you accept this offer, please complete and return the enclosed “Acceptance of 
Conditional Resolution and Waiver of Right to Hearing, (proposed) Order” (Acceptance 
and Waiver) on or before thirty (30) days from the date of this letter. The Acceptance 
and Waiver will be held, pending a 30-day public notice period, and then will be 

                     
1
 Please note that there are no statutes of limitation that apply to administrative proceedings to assess mandatory minimum 

penalties.  See City of Oakland v. Public Employees’ Retirement System, (2002) 95 Cal.App.4th 29, 48; 3 Witkin, Cal. Procedure 
(4th ed. 1996) Actions, §405(2), p. 510.)   
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counter-signed by the Executive Director and returned to you with an invoice for 
payment.   
 
If you contest some but not all of the violations identified in the attached Notice of 
Violation, the PERMITTEE may elect to reserve the right to address the contested 
matters and resolve any uncontested violations through the payment of the mandatory 
minimum penalty for each uncontested violation.   If the PERMITTEE chooses this 
option, please communicate with the staff contact identified below to discuss the 
mechanism for memorializing that election on or before the due date. 
 
If the PERMITTEE chooses to contest any of the violations alleged in the Notice of 
Violation, please identify the specific violation and the basis for the challenge (factual 
error, affirmative defense, etc.) on or before the due date.  The State Water Board staff 
will evaluate the contested violation and take one of two actions: 
 

1) The State Water Board staff will determine that the violation is not 
supported, verify that determination with the Regional Water Board, 
expunge the alleged violation from  the CIWQS data base once the 
Regional Water Board verifies the determination, take no further action 
against the PERMITTEE for the alleged violation, and notify the 
PERMITTEE of that determination;   

 
2) The State Water Board staff, in consultation with the Regional Water 

Board staff, will determine that the alleged violation is meritorious, and will 
notify the PERMITTEE of that determination.  The PERMITTEE will be 
given thirty (30) days from the date of receipt of the State Water Board 
staff determination, to submit a supplemental Expedited Payment for 
those violations.  If the PERMITTEE chooses not to make a payment in 
response to the determination, the PERMITTEE should expect to be 
contacted regarding formal enforcement action that will be initiated with 
regard to the contested violations.   In a formal enforcement action, the 
liability amount sought and/or imposed may exceed the liability amount 
set forth in this Conditional Offer.  Moreover, the cost of enforcement is a 
factor which can be considered in assessing the liability amount. 

  
CONDITIONS FOR STATE WATER BOARD ACCEPTANCE OF RESOLUTION:   
 
Federal regulations require the State Water Board to publish and allow the public thirty 
(30) days to comment on any settlement of an enforcement action addressing NDPES 
permit violations (40 C.F.R. section 123.27(d)(2)(iii)).  Upon receipt of the 
PERMITTEE’s Acceptance and Waiver, the State Water Board staff will publish a 
notice the proposed resolution of the violations.   
 
If no comments are received within the 30-day period, and unless there are new 
material facts that become available to the Water Boards, the Executive Director will 
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execute the Acceptance and Waiver as a stipulated order assessing the uncontested 
mandatory minimum penalty amount pursuant to Water Code section 13385.  
 
If, however, significant comments are received in opposition to the settlement, this Offer 
may be withdrawn.  In that case, the PERMITTEE’s waiver pursuant to the Acceptance 
and Waiver will also be treated as withdrawn.  In that case, the unresolved violations 
will be addressed in a liability assessment proceeding.  At the liability assessment 
hearing the PERMITTEE will be free to make arguments as to any of the alleged 
violations, and the PERMITTEE’s agreement to accept this conditional offer will not in 
any way be binding or used as evidence against the PERMITTEE.  The PERMITTEE 
will be provided with further information on the liability assessment proceeding. 
 
In the event the Acceptance and Waiver is executed by the Executive Director, 
payment of the assessed amount shall be due and payable to the State Water Board as 
specified on the invoice that will accompany the PERMITTEE’s receipt of the notice of 
the Executive Director’s execution.  The payment period is thirty (30) days.  Failure to 
pay the penalty within the required time period may subject the PERMITTEE to further 
liability.  
 
Should you have any questions about the Notice of Violation or the Conditional Offer, 
please contact Erin Mustain at (916) 445-9379 regarding this matter. 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
REED SATO 
Director, Office of Enforcement 
 
Encl. – Exhibit “A” - Notice of Violation 
  Acceptance of Conditional Resolution 
 
cc:  VIA CERTIFIED MAIL NO.  
 7003 3110 0003 0767 7540 
 
 Mr. Mike Walline 
 Suncal Companies 
 2392 Morse Ave 
 Irvine, CA 92614-6234 
 


