
 
Office of Operator Certification 

Comparison Sheet  

Fact Sheet 
  Drinking Water 

(Treatment) 
Drinking Water 
(Distribution) 

Wastewater 

Mission To ensure that skilled professionals are 
overseeing the treatment and distribution of 
safe drinking water.  Operator certification is 
an important step in promoting compliance 
with the Safe Drinking Water Act.    

To Protect Public Health and the environment by 
providing for the effective operation of WWTPs 
through certification of wastewater treatment plant 
operators. 

Program Start Date 1971 2001 1972 

Number of Operators 14,000 20,000 6,000 

Certifications 
Levels 
 

Five levels - T1 to T5 Five levels from D1 
to D5 

Five levels from Grade I to Grade V 

Certification 
Experience 

T1) None 

 
T2) None 

 
T3) 2 years (with one 
year as a Grade 2) 
 

 
T4) 4 years (with one 
year as a Grade 3) 
 

 
T5) 5 years (with two 
years as a Grade 4) 

D1) None 

 
D2) None 

 
D3)2 years (with 
one year as a Grade 
2) 

 
D4) 4 years (with 
one year as a Grade 
3) 

 
D5) 5 years (with 
two years as a 
Grade 4) 
 

I) One year  

 
II) Minimum one to two years* 

 
III)Minimum one to four years* 
 
 

 
IV) Minimum two to six years* 
 
 

 
V) Minimum four to ten years* 
 
*There are multiple paths available please see the 
Operator Certification Requirements Table, page 29. 

Experience 
Substitutions 

A relevant degree earned at an accredited 
academic institution may be substituted for 
all or part of the additional years 

Sixteen educational points can be irrevocably 
substituted for one year of experience (accept for 
the first year of experience) 

Renewals Three years, requires continuing education 
   

Two years, currently, no continuing education 
required. 

Operator-In-Training None None Two year OIT certification issued to the Wastewater 
Plant for an Operator to gain 1,800 hours for one 
year of full-time qualifying experience. 

Examination Dates Twice a year in May 
and November 

Twice a year in 
March and 
September 

Twice a year in April and October 
 

Exam Waiver Offered only for T1-T3 and D1-D3 for 
Operators who hold valid certificates from 
other states who whose requirements are 
similar to California. 
 

Offered for Grade I to Grade V Operators who hold 
valid certificates from other certifying bodies whose 
requirements are comparable to California. 
 



 

  Drinking Water 
(Treatment) 

Drinking Water 
(Distribution) 

Wastewater 

Minimum 
Examination 
Requirements  
 

T1)  High School (HS) 
or GED or 1 year 
specific experience 

 
T2) HS Diploma/GED, 
one specialized 
training course 

 
T3) HS Diploma/GED 
& two specialized 
training courses  
 

 
T4) Valid T3 certificate 
& three specialized 
training courses 
 

 
T5) Valid T4 certificate 
& four specialized 
training courses 

D1) High School (HS) 
or GED or 1 year 
specific experience

 
D2) HS Diploma/GED,  
& one specialized 
training course

 
D3) Valid D2 
certificate & two 
specialized training 
courses  

 
D4) Valid D3 
certificate & three 
specialized training 
courses 

 
 D5) Valid D4 
certificate & four 
specialized training 
courses 

Grade I) High School  (HS) & 6 Educational Points 
 
 

 
Grade II) HS Diploma/GED & 9 Educational Points * 
 
 

 
Grade III) HS  Diploma/GED & 12 Educational Points * 
 
 
 

 
Grade IV) HS Diploma/GED & 32 Educational Points * 
 
 
 

 
Grade V ) HS Diploma/GED & 48 Educational Points * 
 
*There are multiple paths available please see the 
Operator Certification Requirements Table, page 29. 

Fees for Examinations 
Grade 1/I 
Grade 2/II 
Grade 3/III 
Grade 4/IV 
Grade 5/V 
Certifications & 
Renewals 

Grade 1/I 
Grade 2/II 
Grade 3/III 
Grade 4/IV 
Grade 5/V 

   First Exam                        Re-Exam             
   $50.00                              $30.00  
   $65.00                              $45.00 
   $100.00                            $75.00 
  $130.00                             $95.00 
  $155.00                             $120.00 

 
 One Certificate             Dual Certified 
  $70.00                                 $55.00 
  $80.00                                 $60.00 
  $120.00                               $90.00 
  $140.00                               $105.00 
  $140.00                               $105.00 

 
$140.00 

$180.00 

$350.00 
$440.00 
$440.00 

 
 

$170.00 
$230.00 
$300.00 
$340.00 
$340.00 

Renewal/ 
Reinstatement fee  

$50.00 after renewal due date but 45 days 
prior to the expiration date. $100.00 up to 
one year after the expiration date. 

$100.00 accepted up to one year after the expiration 
date.  

Re-exam fee There is a smaller fee for  re-examinations The fee is the same for re-examinations 

Discounts Operators who hold both Treatment & Dist-
ribution certificates receive a discounted rate 
for certifications and renewals. 

Currently, there are not any discounted rates.  

Experience 
Substitutions 

A relevant degree earned at an accredited 
academic institution may be substituted for 
all or part of the additional years 

Sixteen educational points can be irrevocably 
substituted for one year of experience (accept for 
the first year of experience) 

Renewals Three years, require continuing education Two years, currently no continuing education req’d.  

Website Access Go to www.waterboards.ca.gov 
Click on the Operator Certification link. Under 
announcements click the link to the Drinking 
Water Operator Certification Program. 

Go to www.waterboards.ca.gov 
Click on Operator Certification. 
 

http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/

