
SttAttE OF CAL:FORN:A
CAL!FORNIA ttNV!RONMttNTAL PROTEC丁 10N AGENCY
STATE WATttR RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMIN:STRATIVE CiVIL L:AB:LITY COMPLAINT

ln the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by

Caro! A. Rhodehouse

SOURCE:  Blackhawk Creek

COUNTY:  Plumas

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1. Carol A. Rhodehouse (referred to herein as Licensee) is alleged to have violated Order WR 2013-
0003-DWR, a Cease and Desist Order (CDO), issued on January 10, 2013, (Final CDO) by the
Assistant Deputy Director for Water Rights pursuant to California Water Code section 1834 and
authority delegated, pursuant to State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board)
Resolution 2012-0029.

2. California Water Code section 1845, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability to any person or entity who violates a CDO in an amount not to
exceed $1,000 for each day in which the violation occurs. California Water Code section 1845,
subdivision (bX3) provides that civil liability may be imposed administratively by the State Water
Board, pursuant to California Water Code section 1055.

3. California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the State
Water Board may issue a Complaint to any person or entity to whom administrative civil liability (ACL)
may be imposed. On June 5,2012, the Executive Director delegated this authority to the Deputy
Director for Water Rights. Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, the Deputy Director
for Water Rights is authorized to issue an Order imposing an ACL when a Complaint has been issued
and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of receipt of the Complaint. State Water Board
Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes redelegation of this authority from the Deputy Director for
Water Rights to the Assistant Deputy Director for Water Rights. This authority has been redelegated.

ALLEGATIONS

Senate Bill X7-8, which was signed into law in 2009, authorized the State Water Board to adopt
regulations requiring online reporting of water diversions. Consistent with the Senate Bill, the State
Water Board has adopted regulations requiring annual reporting of water diversion and use under
permits and licenses (Annual Use Report) and developed a new online Report Management System
SUSI as a component of the enhanced Water Right lnformation Management Systeh (eWRlliIS).
The regulation specifying annual permittee and licensee reporting requirements is codified at
Title 23, Chapter 2.7, Article 2, sections 925 and 929 of the California Code of Regutations.

ln March 2012, the Division mailed out a first notice (First Notice) to Licensee reminding Licensee of
the requirement to submit the Annual Use Report by June 30,2012, as required pursuant to the
California Code of Regulations and notifying Licensee that the 2011 Annual Use Report must be filed
online. The First Notice provided instructions on how to access the RMS system and submit the
2011 Annual Use Report online and also notified Licensee to contact the Division by phone or e-mail
with any questions regarding the new reporting process.

Licensee failed to submit the 2011 Annual Use Report online by the deadline, June 30, 2012.
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7 ln determining that Licensee violated a term of the permiulicense by failing to submlt th-e Annual Use

Report by Juie 30,2012, the Division issued a second notification on October 22, 2012 of the

vioiation !Second Notice), as provided by California Water Code section 1834(a), along with a

Oratt COO requesting th6 subhission of the 2Ol 1 Annual Report within 20 days of receipt or a written

request for a hearing to contest the notice (Draft CDO).

The united states Postal service confirmed receipt of the second Notice and Draft cDo on

Novemer 5, 2012 at11:41a.m. via certified mail (certified Mail No. 7004-2510-0003-9146-6417).

Having neither received the 2ol 1 Annual use Report nor a request for a hearing within 20 days

after r-eceipt of the Second Notice and Draft CDO, the Division issued a Cease and Desist Order on

January 1b, 2013 (CDO), adopting the Draft CDO as final (Order WR 2013-0003-DWR or

Final CDO).

The Final cDo was sent certified mail (certified Mail No. 7004-2510-0003-9146-5892) and delivered

on January 24,2013 at 9:20 a.m

Licensee violated the Final cDo by failing to immediately submit the 201 1 Annual Use Report

Licensee subsequently submitted tne Z0i1 Annuat Use Report on January 28, 2013, 18 days after

the Final CDO was issued on January 10, 2013 .

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

California Water Code section I 845(bX1) provides that the State Water Board may administratively

impose civil liability to any person or entiiy who violates a cDo in an amount not to exceed $1 ,000

for each day in which the violation occurs.

As ofJanuary 28, 2013, Licensee has been in violation ofthe Final cDo for 18 days. Based on the

days of viola(ion described in the previous paragraph, the maximum liability for the violations alleged

is $18,000 (18 days at $1 ,000 per day)

ln determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code sections '1055.3 and

1845, subdivGion (c), require that the State Water Board consider all relevant circumstances,

incLuding, but not limited io, the extent of harm caused by the violation, the nature and persistence of

the viola'tion, the length of time over which the violation occurs, and the corrective action, if any'

taken by the violator.

ln this case, the 2011 Annual Use Report was due by June 30,2012. Despite two prior notiflcations

(the First Notice in March 2012 and the Second Notice and Draft CDO in October 2012), Licensee

iailed to submit the 2011 Annual use Report before the issuance of the Final cDo. Failure to

compty wittr the reporting requirements in a timely manner harms the Division's ability to accurately

track water diversions fr6m the source and effectively regulate the resources it is required to protect'

Licensee has since complied by submitting the 2011 Annual Use Report

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the late

submiision ofthe 2011 Annual Use Report, the harm caused by the delay in submitting the Annual

use Report, staff costs associated with pursuing compliance, together with the overall need to -.
pru""*b tni integrity of the regulatory program, the Division recommends the imposition of $5,000 in

administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability).

GONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged annual use filing_violations and administrative efficiency, the

Oivision makes tne following Coriditional Settlement Offer (Conditional Offer). Licensee can avoid

iurtnei enforcement action ind settle the alleged failure to file the annual use violation by agreeing to

compty witn the terms of the Conditional Offei, provided below, as well asinlhe Acceptance of

Conditiond seflement offer and waiver of Right to Heaing or Reconsideration (Acceptance and

Waiver) enclosed hereto as Exhibit 'A."
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This Conditional Offer requires Licensee to pay an expedited payment amount (Expedited Payment
Amount) of $500 and waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of the alleged violations. This
expedited payment amount is based on staff costs incurred to date in preparing the Final CDO and
this ACL.

To accept the Conditional Offer, Licensee must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver along
with the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this Complaint.

lf there are extenuating circumstances that Licensee would like to discuss, such as an inability to pay
the Expedited Payment Amount, then Licensee may contact John O'Hagan, Enforcement Section
Manager, with that information as soon as possible but no later than the 20 days from receipt of this
Complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Licensee may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such request for
hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that this notice is received, as
required by California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (b).

lf Licensee requests a hearing, Licensee will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest the
allegations in this Complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. lf a hearing is
requested, a separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed not less than
10 days before the hearing date. The Division may convene a settlement conference prior to
noticing a hearing date.

lf Licensee requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to impose
the civil liability, and if so, whether to ad.iust the proposed liability within the amount authorized by
statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board may take any
appropriate action in accordance with sections 1O0, 275, and 1050, et seq. of the California Water
Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water Board Order
imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

lf Licensee does not wish to request a hearing within 20 days of receipt of this Complaint, Licensee
shall waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of this matter, and remit a cashier's check or
money order for the Expedited Payment Amount set forth in paragraph 18 above, to:

State Water Resources Control Boald
Division of Water Rights
Attn: Enforcement Section
P.O. Box 2000
sacramento, cA 95812-2000

lf Licensee does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited payment Amount, or request a
hearing within 20 days of the date this Complaint is received, then the State Water Board will issue
an ACL Order and seek recovery of the liability imposed as authorized by California Water Code
section 1055.4.

STATE VVATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

4/ 7C,.-(
W. Kasse| Assistant Deputy Director

Division of llater Rights
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ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION

Carol A. Rhodehouse
Source: Blackhawk Creek
County: PLUMAS

By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right
to Hearing and Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) to the State Water Resources Control
Board (State Water Board), Carol A. Rhodehouse (Licensee) hereby accepts the State Water
Board's conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer), and waives the right to a
hearing before and reconsideration by the State Water Board at which violations alleged in
the Administrative Civil Liability Complaint issued to Licensee (ACL Complaint) to which this
Acceptance and Waiver is attached as Exhibit "A" could be disputed.

Licensee agrees to perform the following within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint:

. Pay administrative civil liability as authorized by California Water Code
section '1845(b)(1), in the sum of $500 (Expedited Payment Amount) by cashier's
check or by certified check made payable to the "State Water Resources Control Board"
for deposit into the Water Rights Fund, which shall be deemed payment in full of any civil
liability pursuant to California Water Code section 1845(b)(1) that otheMise might be
assessed for the violations described in the ACL Complaint.

Licensee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives the Licensee's right to contest the
allegations in the ACL Complaint and the civil Iiability amount for such violations.

Licensee understands that the failure to submit payment of the Expedited Payment Amount, as
identified and described above, along with the signed Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of receipt
of this notice, shall render the State Water Board's Conditional Offer void. lf the State Water Board's
Conditional Offer is deemed void due to Licensee's non-performance, then the State Water Board will
issue a final Administrative Civil Liability order and seek recovery of the full liability amount proposed in
the ACL Complaint.

Licensee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for any
violation that is not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint. Upon execution by Licensee, the
Acceptance and Waiver along with the Expedited Payment Amount shall be mailed to the following
address:

Conditional Settlement Offer
State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Attention Enforcement Section
P. O. Box 2000
Sacramento, CA 95812-2000



Carol A. Rhodehouse
Acceptance and Waiver
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Licensee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver is not final until it is formally endorsed by
the Division of Water Rights.

I hereby aflirm that I am duly authorized to acl on behalf of and to bind the Licensee in the making

and giving of this and Waiver.

こ
で レ

,Carol A Rhodehouse
(Licensee) 'Make corections as appropriate.

(Signed Name)

By:

Date

(P"nted ortyped name)

(Title)

Approval of th6 Acceptance and Waiver has been delegated to the Assistant Deputy Direcrtor for
the Division of Water Rights by State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, and approval shall not
limit the authority of the Executive Director or the Oeputy Direc{or for Water Rights, as delegated,
to initiate any anforcement aclions for the unauthorized diverEion or we of water, for any future
violations of the California Water Coda, or violation of the terms of the Acceplance and Waiver.

By:

DiMsion of Water Rights
James WKassel, AssiStant Oeputy Director




