STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT

In the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by

Jane S Roberts
(Applications 12904B, 13203 and 13549B, Licenses 3811B, 4697 and 3812B)

SOURCE: Snake River

COUNTY: Sutter

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1.

Jane S Roberts (referred to herein as Licensee) is alleged to have violated Orders WR 2014-
0052-DWR, WR 2014-0054-DWR and WR 2014-0058-DWR, Cease and Desist Orders (CDO)
issued on December 12, 2014, (Final CDOs) by the Assistant Deputy Director for Water
Rights pursuant to California Water Code section 1834 and authority delegated pursuant to
State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) Resolution 2012-0029.

Water Code section 1845, subdivision (b)(1)(A), provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability to any person or entity who violates a CDO in an amount
not to exceed $10,000 for each day in which the violation occurs. Water Code section 1845,
subdivision (b)(3) provides that civil liability may be imposed administratively by the State
Water Board pursuant to Water Code section 1055.

Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a), provides that the Executive Director for the State
Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity to whom administrative civil
liability (ACL) may be imposed. On June 5, 2012, the Executive Director delegated this
authority to the Deputy Director for Water Rights. Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution
2012-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an order imposing an
ACL when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of
receipt of the complaint. State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes
redelegation of this authority from the Deputy Director for Water Rights to the Assistant
Deputy Director for Water Rights. This authority has been redelegated.

ALLEGATIONS

Senate Bill X7-8, which was signed into law in 2009, authorized the State Water Board to
adopt regulations requiring online reporting of water diversions. Consistent with the Senate
Bill, the State Water Board has adopted regulations requiring annual reporting of water
diversion and use under permits and licenses (Annual Use Report), and developed a new
online Report Management System (RMS) as a component of the enhanced Water Right
Information Management System (eWRIMS). The regulation specifying annual permittee and
licensee reporting requirements is codified at Title 23, Chapter 2.7, Article 2, sections 925
and 929 of the California Code of Regulations.

In January 2014, the Division mailed out a first notice (First Notice) to Licensee reminding
Licensee of the requirement to submit the 2013 Annual Use Report by June 30, 2014, as
required pursuant to the California Code of Regulations and notifying Licensee that the 2013
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Annual Use Report must be filed online. The First Notice provided instructions on how to
access the RMS system and submit the 2013 Annual Use Report online and also notified
Licensee to contact the Division by phone or email with any questions regarding the new
reporting process.

Licensee failed to submit the 2013 Annual Use Reports online by the deadline, June 30, 2014.

In determining that Licensee violated a term of the permit/license by failing to submit the
2013 Annual Use Report by June 30, 2014, the Division issued a draft CDO requesting the
submission of the 2013 Annual Use Report within 20 days of receipt or a written request for a
hearing to contest the notice (Draft CDO).

The United States Postal Service confirmed receipt of the Draft CDOs on October 18, 2014
at 1:04pm via certified mail (Cert#s 7004-2510-0003-9147-3859, 7004-2510-0003-9147-3910
and 7004-2510-0003-9147-4061).

Having neither received the 2013 Annual Use Reports nor a request for a hearing within 20-
days after receipt of the Draft CDOs, the Division issued Cease and Desist Orders on
December 12, 2014 (CDO), adopting the Draft CDOs as final (Orders WR 2014-0052-DWR,
WR 2014-0054-DWR and WR 2014-0058-DWR or Final CDOs).

The Final CDOs were sent certified mail (Cert# 7004-2510-0003-9144-6907) and delivered
on December 13, 2014 at 2:59pm.

Licensee violated the Final CDOs by failing to immediately submit the 2013 Annual Use
Reports. Licensee subsequently submitted the 2013 Annual Use Reports on December 29,
2014, 18 days after the Final CDO was issued on December 12, 2014 .

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

California Water Code section 1845(b)(1)(A) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability to any person or entity who violates a CDO in an amount
not to exceed $10,000 for each day in which the violation occurs.

As of December 29, 2014, Licensee has been in violation of the Final CDOs for 18 days.
Based on the days of violation described in the previous paragraph, the maximum liability for
the violations alleged is $540,000 (18 days at $10,000/day, 3 licenses).

In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code sections
1055.3 and 1845, subdivision (c), require that the State Water Board consider all relevant
circumstances, including, but not limited to, the extent of harm caused by the violation, the
nature and persistence of the violation, the length of time over which the violation occurs,
and the corrective action, if any, taken by the violator.

In this case, the 2013 Annual Use Reports were due by June 30, 2014. Despite two prior
notifications (the January 2014 initial Notice and the October 2014 Draft CDO), Licensee
failed to submit the 2013 Annual Use Reports before the issuance of the Final CDOs.
Failure to comply with the reporting requirements in a timely manner harms the Division’s
ability to accurately track water diversions from the source and effectively regulate the
resources it is required to protect. Licensee has since complied by submitting the 2013
Annual Use Reports.

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the
late submission of the 2013 Annual Use Reports, the harm caused by the delay in submitting
the Annual Use Report, staff costs associated pursuing compliance, together with the overall
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need to preserve the integrity of the regulatory program, the Division recommends the
imposition of $5,000 in administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged annual use filing violations and administrative efficiency,
the Division makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer). Licensee
can avoid further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file the annual use
violation by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer, provided below, as
well as in the Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing or
Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) enclosed hereto as Exhibit “A.”

This Conditional Offer requires Licensee to pay an expedited payment amount (Expedited
Payment Amount) of $1,500 and waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of the
alleged violations. This expedited payment amount is based on staff costs incurred to date in
preparing the Final CDOs and this ACL.

To accept the Conditional Offer, Licensee must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver
along with the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this complaint.

If there are extenuating circumstances that Licensee would like to discuss, such as an inability
to pay the Expedited Payment Amount, then Licensee may contact Kathy Mrowka, Enforcement
Section Manager, with that information as soon as possible but no later than the 20 days from
receipt of this complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Licensee may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such
request for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that this
notice is received as required by Water Code section 1055, subdivision (b).

If Licensee requests a hearing, Licensee will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest
the allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. If a
hearing is requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed
not less than 10 days before the hearing date. The Division may convene a settlement
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.

If Licensee requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to
impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount
authorized by statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board
may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of
the Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water
Board order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

If Licensee does not wish to request a hearing within 20 days of receipt of this complaint,
Licensee shall waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of this matter, and remit a
cashier's check or money order for the Expedited Payment Amount set forth in paragraph 18
above, to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights

Attn : Enforcement Section

P.O. Box 2000

Sacramento, CA 95812-2000
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25. If Licensee does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, nor
request a hearing within 20 days of the date this complaint is received, then the State Water
Board will issue an ACL Order and seek recovery of the liability imposed as authorized by
Water Code section 1055.4.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

John O’Hagan, Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights

Dated: January 14, 2015



EXHIBIT A
ORDER WR 2015- -DWR

ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION

Jane S Roberts

Source: Snake River

County: SUTTER

Licenses 3811B, 3812B and 4697

By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of
Right to Hearing and Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) to the State Water Resources
Control Board (State Water Board), Jane S Raoberts (Licensee) hereby accepts the State Water
Board’s conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer), and waives the right to a hearing before
and reconsideration by the State Water Board at which violations alleged in the Administrative
Civil Liability Complaint issued to Licensee (ACL Complaint) to which this Acceptance and Waiver
is attached as Exhibit “A” could be disputed.

Licensee agrees to perform the following within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint:

o Pay administrative civil liability as authorized by California Water Code
section 1845(b)(1)(A), in the sum of $1,500 (Expedited Payment Amount) by
cashier’s check or by certified check made payable to the “State Water Resources
Control Board” for deposit into the Water Rights Fund, which shall be deemed
payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to California Water Code section
1845(b)(1)(A) that otherwise might be assessed for the violations described in the ACL
Complaint.

Licensee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives the Licensee’s right to contest
the allegations in the ACL Complaint and the civil liability amount for such violations.

Licensee understands that the failure to submit payment of the Expedited Payment Amount as
identified and described above, along with the signed Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of
receipt of this notice, shall render the State Water Board’s Conditional Offer void. If the State
Water Board’'s Conditional Offer is deemed void due to Licensee’s non-performance, then the
State Water Board will issue a final Administrative Civil Liability order and seek recovery of the
full liability amount proposed in the ACL Complaint.

Licensee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for
any violation that is not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint. Upon execution by
Licensee, the Acceptance and Waiver along with the Expedited Payment Amount shall be
mailed to the following address:
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Acceptance and Waiver

Conditional Settlement Offer

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights

Attention Enforcement Section

P. O. Box 2000

Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Licensee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver is not final until it is formally endorsed
by the Division of Water Rights.

I hereby affirm that | am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind the Licensee in the
making and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver.

Jane S Roberts
(Licensee) *Make corrections as appropriate.

By:

(Signed Name) (Date)

(Printed or typed name)

(Title)

Approval of the Acceptance and Waiver has been delegated to the Assistant Deputy Director for
Water Rights by State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, and approval shall not limit the
authority of the Executive Director or the Deputy Director for Water Rights, as delegated, to
initiate any enforcement actions for the unauthorized diversion or use of water, for any future
violations of the Water Code, or violation of the terms of the Acceptance and Waiver.

By:

John O’Hagan (Date)
Assistant Deputy Director for Water Rights



