State of California
Office of Administrative Law

Inre: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
State Water Resources Control Board REGULATORY ACTION
Regulatory Action:

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and

Title 23, California Code of Regulations
11349.6

Adopt sections:
Amend sections: 1062, 1064, 1066, 3833.1

Repeal sections: OAL File No. 2014-1021-01 E

On September 23, 2014, the State Water Resources Control Board adopted Resolution
2014-0052 that revised by emergency the water rights fee schedules in sections 1062,
1064, 1066, and 3833.1 of title 23 to be consistent with the revenue levels set forth in
the Budget Act for Fiscal Year (FY) 2014-15. Under the Water Code and existing
regulations, a person filing a water right application, petition, registration, groundwater
recordation, or other filing, must pay a filing fee to the State Water Board. Existing
regulations also establish annual fees for water right permits, licenses, and water
leases, and applications for water quality certification for an activity that involves a
hydroelectric facility licensed by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).
In general, these emergency regulations would adjust the fee schedule to (1) increase
annual water right fees to conform to amounts appropriated by the Legislature from the
Water Rights Fund, (2) increase the annual FERC license-associated water quality
certification fee, and (3) adjust the caps on application and petition filing fees based on
the consumer price index. Pursuant to Water Code sections 1530 and 13160.1, this
action by the Board is deemed an emergency and will remain in effect until revised by
the Board.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code. ’

Debra M. Cornez
Director

Date: 10/30/2oi4 LO/J@»L&WC) Ul =
| 72

Original: Thomas Howard
Copy: Robert Rinker
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: . 23CCR§1062
§ 1062 F:hng Fees for Water nght Apphcatnons

(a) A person who fxles a water nght application shall pay to the board a f|||ng fee as

. follows: -

(1)(A) Except as prowded in subparagraphs (B) and (), the fee for a water right
application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant seeks
to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet, The total fee shall not exceed ;
$482~69—9489,848, ptus any addmonal fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and
®).

(B) Ata facmty where a small hydroetectnc generatmg facmty meets the criteria
for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality
Act, as established in California Code of Regulattons title 14, section 15328 the

fee shall be $1,000. =
(C) The fee for an apphcataon for a temporary permlt fi led under Water Code

" section 1425 shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated

~ under subparagraph (A), above, or (i) $2,000; except that the fee for an

application for a temporary permit at a small hydroelectric generating facility that
meets the criteria for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California
Environmental Quality Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title
14, section 15328 shall be $1,000. The fi iling fee includes the annual permit fee if
a temporary permit is issued. ,

(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration
of fully appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee.

(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a
state-filed application pursuant to Water Code sectlon 10504 then $5,000 shall

. be added to the fee.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on
January 1, 2004.

(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425,
1426, 1525 and 1535, Water Code.

23 CCR § 1064
§ 1064. Filing Fees for Petitions or Requests.
(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the

board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the
petition or request in accordance with this section.



(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a petition to change one or more
terms of a single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be
considered a single petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes
simultaneously, except that a petition for an extension of time shall be considered
a separate petition, subject to a separate fee, from a petition to change one or
more other terms in a water right. A petitioner requesting changes to more than
one application, permit, license, or other water right shall file a separate petition
or petitions for each water right and a filing fee shall be required for each petition.
A separate filing fee shall be required for each change petition subsequently filed
on.a water right that is already the subject of a pending petition for change.
(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (i), (ii), and (iii), the fee for a petition to
change the terms of an application, permit or license shall be as follows. The fee
shall be a minimum of $1,000. If the total annual amount of diversion sought by
the pending application or authorized by the permit or license, as calculated in
accordance with section 1066, is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the petitioner
shall pay an additional $0.30 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet. The
total fee shall not exceed $6,0626,153.
(i) The fee for a petition for change pursuant only to Water Code section
1707 shall be $850. v
(i) The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to
Water Code section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus
$0.30 for each acre-foot that the petitioner seeks to transfer in excess of
10 acre-feet. The fee shall be based on the maximum amount of water
proposed to be transferred annually, not the amount of water proposed to
be transferred over the entire term of the transfer. The total fee shall not
exceed $482,6009489 848.
(iii) The fee for a petition for extension of time shall be $1,000.
(2) The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, place of use, or
purpose of use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1211 shall
be $1,000. ‘
(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a state-filed application
pursuant to Water Code section 10504 shall be $5,000.
(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for
small domestic or livestock stockpond or small irrigation use shall be $250.
(b) A person who filed a petition or a request for release from priority on or after July 1,
2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the
difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the
regulation in effect on January 1, 2004.

(c) The petition filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 386,
1525 and 1535, Water Code.



- 23 CCR § 1066
- § 1066 ‘Annual Fees for Permlts or Llcenses

(a) A person who holds a water nght permxt or llcense shall pay a mmlmum annual fee
of $150. If the total annual amount of diversion authorized by the permlt or license is
greater than 10 acre-feet, then the permittee or licensee shall pay an additional
$6:0830.058 for each acre»foot in excess of 10 acre-feet.

(1) For permnts or hcenses issued pnor to the begmnmg of the year for whlch the
fee is imposed, the board shall calculate annual fees according to the total
annual amount of diversion authonzed by the permlt or llcense as of the
beginning of the year.

(2) The board shall calculate annual fees for perm;ts 1ssued on or after the
beginning of the year according to the total annual amount of diversion
authorized by the permlt as xssued by the board

(b) The board shall calcuiate the annuai fee based on the total annual amount of
diversion authorized by the permlt or license, ‘without regard to the avallablhty of water
for diversion or any bypass requirements or other conditions or constraints that may
have the practical effect of limiting diversions but do not constitute a condition of the ,,
permit or hcense that expressly sets a maximum amount of diversion.

(1) If the permit or license does not expressly identify the total annual amount of
diversion, the board shall calculate the total annual amount based on the rate of
authorized diversion multiplied by the length of time in the authorized season of
~diversion..
(2) If the permnt or hcense contams an annua! d:versxon hmitatlon that is
applicable only to that permit or license, and the limitation is less than the
calculated diversion volume the fee shall be based on the amount specified in
the limitation.
(3) If a person holds multiple water rights that contain an annual diversion
limitation that is applicable to the combination of those rights, but the person may
still divert the full amount authorized under a particular right, then the fee shall be
based on the total annual amount for that individual right. :

Note: Authori{y cited: Sections 1058 and '1 530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525,
1536 and 1537, Water Code.

23 CCR §3833.1
§ 3833.1. Annual Fees for FERC Licensed Hydroelectric Projects.

(a) Each applicant seeking water quality certification for an activity that includes, or
involves construction or modification of facilities for the purpose of, producing
hydroelectric power, where the activity or facilities require the issuance or amendment
of a FERC license, shall pay an annual fee in accordance with this section.



(b)(1) An annual fee calculated pursuant to paragraphs (4) and (5) shall apply in each
fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) during or after the year in which review in
anticipation of consideration of certification is initiated as specified in paragraph (2) and
until and including the fiscal year in which certification and related federal proceedings
are complete as specified in paragraph (3).
(2) Review in anticipation of consideration of certlflcatlon shall be deemed to
have been initiated when any of the following occurs or has occurred:
(A) A notice of intent is filed pursuant to 18 CFR § 5.5 or 18 CFR § 16.6.
(B) Consultation is initiated pursuant to 18 CFR § 4.38.
(C) An application for water quality certification is filed.
(3) Certification and related proceedings shall be deemed to have been
. completed when any of the following occurs:
(A) FERC issues or denies the license or license amendment for which review in
anticipation of consideration of certification was initiated.
(B) FERC determines that no license, other than a license already in effect, or
license amendment is required.
(C) The applicant abandons the proposed actlwty including withdrawal or
surrender of any applicable notification of intent, FERC preliminary permit, FERC
license application, or other application for FERC approval.
(4) The annual fee shall be $1,000 plus $ 0.342430 per kilowatt, based on the
authorized or proposed installed generating capacity of the hydroelectric facility.
(A) In the case of an application for an original, new .or subsequent license, as
those terms are used in Parts 4, 5 and 16 of Title 18 of the CFR, the annual fee
shall be based on the installed generating capacity of the facility as proposed in
the notification of intent, application for FERC license, application for certification,
or existing license that is proposed for takeover or relicensing, whlchever is
greatest.
(B) In the case of a proposed amendment to an existing FERC license, the
‘component of the fee based on installed generating capacity shall be based on
the amount by which the installed generating capacity of the hydroelectnc facility
would be increased by the proposed amendment.
(5) If an applicant for certification has paid any deposit pursuant to subdivision (b)
of section 3833 as that subdivision was in effect before January 1, 2004, the
state board shall credit against the annual fee specified in paragraph (4) any
portion of that deposit that was for costs incurred after June 30, 2003. If an
applicant for certification was required to pay but did not pay any deposit
pursuant to subdivision (b) of section 3833 as that subdivision was in effect
before January 1, 2004, the annual fee shall include any unpaid deposit, less any
portion of that unpa;d deposit that was for costs incurred after June 30, 2003, in
addition to the annual fee specified in paragraph (4).
(6) If an application for certification is filed for an activity for which no annual fees
have previously been imposed, the annual fee shall be due upon filing of the
application for certification, and shall be paid to the state board. In all other -
cases, the annual fee shall become due thirty days after the State Board of



Equahzatlon gives notlce of the fee, and shall be pald to the State Board of
Equahzatlon e : ‘ . :

(c)(1) The holder of any FERC hcense for a hydroelectnc project for which water quality
certification has been issued shall pay an annual fee in the amount of $100 plus $0.125
per knlowatt based on the authonzed lnstalled generatmg capacnty of the hydroelectnc
project. :
(2) The fee |mpcsed under thlS subdw:s»on shall not apply in the fi scal year when
the FERC license is issued if an annual fee IS |mposed in that fiscal year
pursuant to subdsvns:on (b). ' .

(3) The annual fee :mposed under this subdwnsmn shall be due thlrty days after
the State Board of Equalization gives notice of the fee, and shall be paid to the
- State Board of Equalization.. :

(d)(1) A determination by the state board that an applicant is required to pay a fee under
this section or paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of section 3833, and any determination
by the state board regarding the amount of that fee, is subject to review under chapter 4
(commencing with Section 1120) of part 1 of division 2 of the Water Code. Any petition
by an applicant to the state board for review shall be submitted in accordance with that
chapter and article 12 (commencing with section 768) of chapter 2 of division 3 of this
title. : ; ,
(2) If the subject of a petition for reconsideration relates to an annual fee, other
than an annual fee first required to be paid pursuant to paragraph (1) of
subdivision (b) of section 3833, the board's decision regarding an annual fee
- shall be deemed adopted on the date of assessment by the State Board of
Equalization. The petition must be received by the board within 30 days of the
date of assessment by the State Board of Equalization.

Note: Authority cited: Sectlon 13160.1, Water Code. Reference: Section 13160.1, Water
Code.



